Wandering through college campuses every fall is a treat for me. The energy that abounds is invigorating. Luckily, the pressure of studying and test deadlines is much a part of my past. Now I get to experience the best of all worlds. I have the privilege of talking with students and offering encouragement in their educational pursuits while presenting information about Pride Foundation’s scholarships that our many donors have created over the last 20 years. This is my job as Pride Foundation’s Educational Programs Officer.

Student applicant workshops will be held throughout the Northwest between now and the end of the year. Students living in towns from Juneau to Eugene, Walla Walla to Billings will be introduced to the possibilities of what a Pride Foundation scholarship can offer them. For many, it is the difference between going to school or not.

We encourage students to attend a workshop (see below for dates of upcoming workshops) to get firsthand knowledge about the process and to better understand our mission. We have over fifty scholarship funds that are available through our single online application.

The James and Colin Lee Wozumi scholarship is one such fund. This scholarship was established to support the education of people living with or studying the eradication of HIV and in 2007-2008 the scholarship did just that for George Froehle. George was studying to become a Physician Assistant and when he achieved that goal, became a member of a medical practice in the Capitol Hill neighborhood of Seattle. Setting a stellar example with his work, George recently took on a role of introducing the Physician Assistant concept to the health sector in New Zealand. His is one of the many stories that I get to share about our student leaders as they meet and often exceed their goals and dreams. These stories that can be told and these dreams are achieved because of the volunteers and donors who helped make it happen.

Pride Foundation’s scholarship review process relies on over 300 volunteers from across the Northwest each year to read and evaluate over 600 applications and then interview over 200 students. This is a gargantuan task that is made into an enjoyable activity with the help of these dedicated volunteers and we need your help to pull it off again this year.

This is also a wonderful way for Pride Foundation supporters to meet one another, expanding their own reach in the community. Many volunteers who have started reviewing scholarships have gone on to participate as a grant reviewer, join our local leadership action teams, or become a member of our board of directors.

Everyone, no matter whether they are students, volunteers, or donors makes the community better for all of us by being involved. I look forward to speaking with you about the best way we can work together.

Scholarship Applicant Workshops

Pride Foundation’s Educational Programs Director, Craig Williams, will be leading two online workshops on the scholarship application process and also answer questions, on Tuesday, November 12, 2013 at Noon AKST/1:00pm PST/2:00pm MST and Wednesday, December 11, 2013 at 2:00pm AKST/3:00pm PST/4:00pm MST. All students are encouraged to participate and details will be made available when you signup, to RSVP for either workshop, email scholarships@pridefoundation.org.

In-person scholarship applicant workshops are also being held throughout the region from now through January, for dates and specific locations contact your area’s Regional Development Organizer.

Scholarship Application

Available online now, applications are due by 5:00 p.m. PST on January 15, 2014.

Volunteering and/or Donating
If you are interested in volunteering or contributing to our scholarship program please contact Craig Williams at scholarships@pridefoundation.org or call 800-735-7287 x11.

 

Craig Williams is Pride Foundation’s Educational Programs Officer. Email Craig.

Posted In: Blog, Supporting Students