As one of the newest team members to Pride Foundation, I am excited to announce the launch of our 2013 Community Grants Cycle with our Letter of Inquiry (LOI) application. As the Director of Programs, I get the privilege of witnessing the proposed ideas, projects, and strategies from community organizations as they work toward enhancing the lives and addressing the needs of LGBTQ youth, adults, and families by positively impacting local communities in Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington.

As some may know, Pride Foundation has been conducting an extensive review of our Granting Program, so that we may better serve our community of nonprofits, donors, and volunteers. This is a standard practice, and our review is an important step to ensuring the Community Grants program is meeting existing and emerging needs in our community.

At this time there are no significant changes to our 2013 process; Pride Foundation will continue to fund a wide range of projects that strengthen the Northwest LGBTQ community. Our community grants program will continue to support new and innovative ideas, projects, and programs, as well as supporting existing organizations with a history of measurable results and impact. The maximum grant award is still $5,000 with funding available for specific projects or for general operating support.

What you will see are newly formatted applications, which allow applicants to better inform Pride Foundation about the communities they serve, the issue they address, and the work the organization is passionate about. In addition, we will be holding two community information sessions via conference call in order to explain the updated LOI application, the overall granting process, and policies to prospective applicants, as well as answer commonly asked questions. I also look forward to introducing myself to you and hearing your questions.

The conference calls are scheduled for:

Monday, July 8th at 1 p.m. MDT/12 p.m. PDT/11 a.m. AKDT

Tuesday, July 9th at 4 p.m. MDT/3 p.m. PDT/2 p.m. AKDT

To sign up for either conference call please RSVP to grants@pridefoundation.org.

To join the conference calls, please dial toll-free 866-740-1260 and enter meeting access number 3233318#.

The LOI application is due by Thursday, July 25 at 9 p.m. MDT/8 p.m. PDT/7 p.m. AKDT. The application will be closed simultaneously in all regions and only online submissions will be accepted. For more information about the LOI application form, criteria to apply, and required support documents, timing and other important details, please visit our overview and guidelines pages.

For questions or comments, please contact me via email or call 800-735-7287. If at any time during your application you need support or have questions concerning your geographic region, please contact our Regional Development Organizers:

Alaska – email or call Josh Hemsath: 907-249-6628

Idaho – email or call Steve Martin: 208-914-0442

Montana – email or call Gunner Scott: 206-323-3318, ext. 12 or toll-free 800-735-7287

Oregon – email or call Jett Johnson: 541-603-8626

Washington – email or call Gunner Scott: 206-323-3318, ext. 12 or toll-free 800-735-7287

In all cases, Pride Foundation is honored to put our community’s resources to work in support of projects and organizations we know are making a difference for LGBTQ youth, adults, and families, because we should be who we are, where we are.

Gunner Scott is Pride Foundation’s Director of Programs. Email Gunner.

Posted In: Blog, Building Organizations