Spokane City Hall

Spokane City Hall

On Monday, April 16, 2012 Pride Foundation will join with Westminster UCC, Peace and Justice Action League of Spokane, Destinations of Spokane and many other marriage equality supporters in a march from Westminster UCC down to City Hall where there will be a vote on a city resolution in support of marriage equality.

To express support for marriage equality in Washington State, a week long march was held in February 2012 from Vancouver to Olympia. This inspired Suzy Halberstadt, who is involved with PJALS, Westminster UCC and Destinations of Spokane, to organize a Love for All March in Spokane to coincide with a city council meeting where council members will vote on a city resolution in support of marriage equality.

Suzy, originally from California and was there when Prop 8 passed, to her horror and disbelief.  After moving to Spokane in early 2009 when Ref 71 came up, she decided to do everything in her power to not let happen here what happened in California.

“I believe marriage…should not be exclusionary. I also feel that it is especially important for our voices here in Eastern Washington to be heard. Passing the Marriage Equality Resolution through city council will provide a loud voice for those who see Eastern Washington as a bastion of conservative values.”

Shar Lichty, of Peace and Justice Action League of Spokane, shares how you can make an impact and show your support for marriage equality.

“We need to show strong community support to make this happen. We need supporters to join us for the march and to fill the Spokane City Council chambers. All individuals who attend the council meeting can sign in to indicate that they are in support of the resolution. We also encourage those who are willing to testify to the council on why marriage equality matters to them to do so during the public comment portion.”

Join us as we strengthen the campaign in Spokane to allow loving, committed couples who want to make a lifelong promise to take care of and be responsible for each other, in good times and bad.

Event information is as follows:

Love for All March for Marriage Equality and Spokane City Council Resolution

Monday, April 16, 2012

5:00 p.m. – Westminster UCC, 411 S Washington St, Spokane, WA

6:00 p.m. – City Hall, 808 W Spokane Falls Blvd, Spokane, WA

If you are unable to join us, you can still play an important role in the City of Spokane adopting a resolution in support of marriage equality by contacting council members.

Ben Stuckart, City Council President At Large, bstuckart@pokanecity.org

Amber Waldref, City Council Member, District, awaldref@spokanecity.org

Mike Fagan, City Council Member, District 1, mfagan@spokanecity.org

Jon Snyder, City Council Member, District 2, jsnyder@spokanecity.org

Mike Allen, City Council Member, District 2, mallen@spokanecity.org

Steve Salvatori, City Council Member, District 3, ssalvatori@spokanecity.org

Nancy McLaughlin, City Council Member, District 3, nmclaughlin@spokanecity.org

If you have any questions or would like more information about this event, please contact Shar at slichty@pjals.org.

Gunner Scott is Pride Foundation’s Director of Programs. Email Gunner. 

Posted In: Blog, Connecting Leaders, Blog, Washington